Ten WorldTour teams confirmed for the Tour of Britain

Tuesday, July 19th, 2016 3:17pm
Category: Events

Fans and their flag

This year’s Chain Reaction Cycles-sponsored Tour of Britain will feature ten of the UCI’s top level WorldTour teams for the first time ever, with the teams from the top tier of the sport making up half the field for the Tour, which takes place from Sunday 4 to Sunday 11 September.

Among those teams will be Team Dimension Data, who won the 2015 Tour of Britain with Edvald Boasson Hagen and now also boast Mark Cavendish.

They will be joined by the likes of regular Tour of Britain participants Team Sky, Movistar Team, BMC Racing Team and Cannondale Drapac, while Team Giant Alpecin, Orica BikeExchange and Trek Segafredo return having not competed in 2015.


Team WIGGINS will also race, with Sir Bradley Wiggins having already publically stated that he intends to ride the Tour of Britain following his bid for Gold at the Rio de Janeiro Olympics.

Two UCI ProContinental teams will be making their Tour of Britain debuts – the Spanish Caja Rural – Serguros RGA team, from whom Preston’s Hugh Carthy rides, and the Belgian Wanty – Groupe Gobert team, who include former SKODA King of the Mountains Mark McNally.

Having won both the Yodel Sprints and SKODA King of the Mountains jerseys with Peter Williams in 2015, ONE Pro Cycling return for their second Tour of Britain, their first as a UCI ProContinental team.

Commenting on the line-up, Tour of Britain Race Director Mick Bennett said; “This is a world-class line-up of teams entirely befitting of the Tour of Britain’s continuing growth in stature and importance on the global cycling calendar.

“Half of the teams selected are currently racing in the Tour de France, giving British fans a taste of the high-level of competition which they can look forward to watching this September.”

Jonny Clay, British Cycling director of cycle sport and membership, said: “The fact that 10 World Tour teams have confirmed their place on the start line in Glasgow at this year’s Tour of Britain is a fantastic endorsement and underlines the strong reputation that the event now holds within an ever increasingly competitive international calendar. We are greatly looking forward to the spectacle of a world class peloton racing on British roads this September.”

It will be the largest number of UCI WorldTour teams to compete in Britain at any point since the Tour de France Grand Depart in 2014.


The full list of teams for the Tour of Britain is as follows:

  • An Post Chain Reaction (IRL)
  • Bardiani CSF (Ita)
  • BMC Racing Team (USA)
  • Cannondale Drapac Pro Cycling Team (USA)
  • Caja Rural – Seguros RGA (SPA)
  • Great Britain national team (GBR)
  • Lotto Soudal (BEL)
  • ONE Pro Cycling (GBR)
  • Orica BikeExchange (AUS)
  • Movistar Team (SPA)
  • Team Dimension Data (RSA)
  • Team Giant Alpecin (GER)
  • Team LottoNL Jumbo (NED)
  • Team Sky (GBR)
  • Team WIGGINS (GBR)
  • Trek Segafredo (USA)
  • Wanty Groupe Gobert (BEL)

Elia Viviani
In total 20 teams will participate in the 2016 Tour of Britain.  The final three British UCI Continental teams will be confirmed on Monday 1 August following the Prudential RideLondon event.  Team WIGGINS were selected by virtue of their third overall with Owain Doull in the 2015 Tour of Britain.

JLT Condor presented by Mavic, Madison Genesis, NFTO, Pedal Heaven and Team Raleigh GAC are vying for the final three spots, with their selection based upon performances in major domestic events and UCI level races in the UK.

The Tour of Britain is British Cycling’s premier road cycling event giving cycling fans the opportunity to see the world’s best teams and riders competing on their door step.

Stages of the Tour of Britain 2016

Stage One

Sunday 4 September

Glasgow to Castle Douglas

Stage Two

Monday 5 September

Carlisle to Kendal

Stage Three

Tuesday 6 September

Congleton to Tatton Park, Knutsford

Stage Four

Wednesday 7 September

Denbigh to Builth Wells

Stage Five

Thursday 8 September

Aberdare to Bath

Stage Six

Friday 9 September

Sidmouth to Haytor, Dartmoor

Stage Seven a

Saturday 10 September

Bristol Stage Individual Time Trial

Stage Seven b

Saturday 10 September

Bristol Stage Circuit Race

Stage Eight

Sunday 11 September

London Stage presented by TfL


About the Tour of Britain
Re-launched in 2004 after a five year absence from the calendar, the Tour of Britain is British Cycling’s premier road cycling event giving cycling fans the opportunity to see the world’s best teams and riders competing on their doorstep.  The Tour of Britain is the UK’s highest ranked professional stage race and the country’s largest free-to-watch sporting event, organised annually by SweetSpot Group.

Ranked at the 2.HC level by the UCI, the Tour of Britain attracts the world’s top cyclists, including Olympic and World Champions and Tour de France stage winners, to compete on British roads each September, with three-hours of live coverage a day on ITV4.

The 2016 Tour of Britain takes place from Sunday 4 to Sunday 11 September.



Shop at
Chain Reaction Cycles

CRC Logo

Got a question?
Contact our editor