Matt Simmonds takes third place at round two of the BDS, Fort William

Monday, May 13th, 2013 11:18am
Category: MTB

Matt Simmonds takes third place at round two of the BDS, Fort WilliamCongratulations to Team CRC/Nukeproof rider Matt Simmonds who took third place at the second round of the British Downhill Series in Fort William, Scotland, over the weekend.

Matt seeded second on Saturday afternoon and backed that up with an amazing run in the finals. It was great to see Matt standing on the podium alongside two World Champions – Danny Hart and Gee Atherton – and double World Champion Greg Minnaar, who took fourth.

Team Manager Nigel Page was ecstatic at Matt’s effort, saying: “It just shows that Matt’s training throughout the winter has paid off, and Matt looks to be on pace with the world’s best for the upcoming World Cup race season which starts back here on the weekend of 8th and 9th June.

“This is a huge boost for Matt’s confidence and a fantastic result for the team.”

Joe SmithUnfortunately after seeding right up there in seventh place, Joe Smith suffered a rear puncture in his race run, scuppering any chances of a double podium for the team after the first BDS round in Combe Sydenham. On a positive note, Joe was riding very fast before his puncture and this weekend provided the perfect training for the first round of the World Cup.

Team rider Sam Hill missed out on Fort William as he’s back in Australia training and preparing for the World Cup season. Good news for British race fans as Sam will be back in the UK very soon, racing at the third round of the British Downhill Series at Innerleithen, Scotland, on 2nd June.

Nigel Page

Never far from the podium himself, Team Manager Nigel Page raced in the Expert class, finishing fifth – he put his success down to the Nukeproof Pulse, which worked flawlessly all weekend on Fort William’s fast and rough track.

As you can see from the results list, this was a stacked, world-class field. 

  1. 1 Danny HART Giant Factory Racing

3 Matt SIMMONDS Chain Reaction Cycles / Nukeproof
4 Greg MINNAAR Santa Cruz Syndicate
6 Josh BRYCELAND Santa Cruz Syndicate
7 Adam BRAYTON Hope Technology
8 Samuel BLENKINSOP Lapierre international
9 Harry HEATH 5ten / / Renthal / Schwalbe
11 Andrew NEETHLING Giant Factory Racing
12 Bernard KERR Pivot Factory Team
13 Marcelo GUTIERREZ VILLEGAS Giant Factory Racing
14 Patrick THOME SCOTT 11
15 Ben CATHRO Sick Skills MTB Coaching
16 Harry MOLLOY Madison / Saracen
17 Sam DALE (elt) Madison / Saracen
18 Jack READING KORE / Mojo / O'Neal / Schwalbe / Shimano
19 Ben REID Dirt Norco / O'Neal / sun ringle
20 Rich THOMAS
21 Damien SPAGNOLO MS Mondraker
22 Cédric GRACIA Santa Cruz Syndicate
23 Brendan FAIRCLOUGH Scott Sports
24 Fabien COUSINIE Hutchinson UR
25 Fraser MCGLONE MTBcut.Tv / Orange
26 Faustin FIGARET
27 Arran GANNICOTT gannicott racing
28 Steve PEAT Santa Cruz Syndicate
29 Scott MEARS Cyclefix / Fox / Hopetech / Santa Cruz
31 Joe CONNELL Intense / Suspension Center
32 Gareth BREWIN J-Tech / Team Skene
33 Markus PEKOLL MS Mondraker
34 Dan STANBRIDGE Dirt Norco
35 Joel MOORE Muddy Bum Bikes
36 Matthias STONIG MS Mondraker
37 Elliot MACHIN Bike Morzine / Knox Armour / SBR+
39 Jono JONES
40 Matty STUTTARD Ride-On / Slik Graphics
42 Allan FINDLAY Gamut / Santa Cruz
43 Leon ROSSER Team Skene
44 Peter WILLIAMS I-Cycles / O'Neal / Ridelines
45 Dale RUSSELL (exp) Grizedale Mountain Bikes
46 Robert SMITH (elt)
47 Oliver MORRIS Muddy Bum Bikes
48 Ronan TAYLOR Perth City Cycles
49 Dave SMITH Leisure Lakes
50 William JONES O'Neal / Santa Cruz
51 Grant BOYCE Mojo / Team Skene
52 James SWINDEN StevePeatSyndicate
53 Grégory BRUNACHE
54 Tom ATTLEE Pearce Cycles
55 Christopher MCGLINCHEY Chain Reaction Cycles / Nukeproof Ireland
56 Joe SMITH Chain Reaction Cycles / Nukeproof
57 Dan SHERIDAN Chain Reaction Cycles / Nukeproof Ireland         


Shop at
Chain Reaction Cycles

CRC Logo

Got a question?
Contact our editor