2012 iDMS round two report from Mt Leinster

Tuesday, May 15th, 2012 8:07am
Category: MTB

The rocky Mount Leinster course provided the sternest test of the series so far, with many riders struggling to find fast lines through the daunting looking rock garden and myriad other rocky outcrops. Race runs for the later riders were also made more difficult by rain which fell not long after racing started and gradually became heavier.


Pinning it during practice

Greg Callaghan (OC tuning/Solid Bikes) took the win in the Elite category ahead of Karl O'Sullivan and Christopher McGlinchey (Team Nukeproof) with the second fastest time of the day coming from an on-fire Luke Cornforth (021 Racing) in the Youth category! Callaghan was fastest in the seeding runs by 0.137 from Plush MTB's Ewan Doherty but the crowd were robbed of a race run finale when Doherty's chain and mech jammed his back wheel early in his race run.

Callaghan was one of the very few later runners to improve his time; his 1:40.069 was over seven seconds faster than his nearest rivals O'Sullivan (1.47.147) and McGlinchey (1:47.887) and fourth place Elite rider Colin Ross (1:47.906).

As well as Luke Cornforth setting the second fastest time of the day to win the Youth category (1:44.377), his nearest category rival Jacob Dickson (Plush/Potato Bred) recorded the fourth fastest time of the day with a 1:47.213. One thing's for sure – there's going to be a fascinating battle between these two young riders who now have a category win each.

Erika McDermott (Team Moco with Biking Dirty) took the Women's win (2:34.227) from fastest qualifier Silvia Gallagher (Bespoke Cycles) in 2:41.273, and in third place Abigail Hogg (Full Cycle) with a time of 2:43.421 on board one of the prize Nukeproof Scalps provided by series sponsor Chain Reaction Cycles.

The Masters podium was once again dominated by EpicDH riders with Mark Tiernan on the top step. Joe Ward (Potato Bred) beat CRC rider Ian McIntyre to the Veteran win, and Stephen McCormack (OC Tuning) again won in Juniors with Jack Crowley (Weldon) taking the Juveniles again as he did at the first round.

Click here for full results from the iDMS website.

The next round of the 2012 ChainReactionCycles iDMS takes place at Carrick Mountain on May 26th-27th and you can enter now via

Keep your eye out on the iDMS Facebook page with details on how you could be riding a Nukeproof Scalp at the next round…


Greg Callaghan (OC tuning/Solid Bikes) took the win in the Elite category ahead of Karl O'Sullivan, Christopher McGlinchey (Team Nukeproof), Colin Ross and Jamie McCullough (PlushMTB)

Shop at
Chain Reaction Cycles

CRC Logo

Got a question?
Contact our editor